Book Review: Tweet Cute

Hello everyone! I hope you are all doing well! Today I’m going to talk about a book that I feel like a lot of people read and loved earlier this year. I recently got it from my library, and reallly enjoyed it as well. I will be reviewing Tweet Cute by Emma Lord.

Tweet Cute follows Pepper as she navigates her senior year at her super-elite New York high school. Her parents own one of the most successful fast food chains in the country, and Pepper often helps them out, especially with their social media.

When she gets into a Twitter war with a local deli, whose social media account happens to be run by the class clown, Jack, the tweets go viral. Suddenly both Pepper and Jack are struggling to keep up with school and their families, and the line between being friends and enemies starts to blur.

And maybe they are falling for each other on an anonymous chat app.

This book was just so much fun! I was immediately sucked into Pepper’s voice, and I really enjoyed seeing Jack’s perspective as well. I felt the author did a good job of accurately depicting teen perspectives, especially Pepper’s. I could really relate to a lot of Pepper’s stress about school and balancing her time. The characters were really funny and witty and enjoyable to read!

The food that was described in this book sounded so yummy, and I definitely made grilled cheese after reading this book! It was a really light and refreshing read, especially since I’ve been really stressed out lately (I think we all have). I loved that I could just escape into this delight of a novel!

There were so many different parts to this story, and for the most part, they were balanced very well. There were discussions of family responsibility and figuring out what you want to do with your life. The book was structured in a way that alternated between Pepper and Jack’s perspectives, and their anonymous messaging. At some parts, it was hard to tell who was talking, but most of the time their voices were distinct.

I also thought that this book was a bit too long. Of course, I would have stayed in the story forever if I could, but I felt that some of the storylines dragged a bit, and since the book was something like 400 pages long, I thought that there could have been some things cut that would have made the book jump around from storyline to storyline less. I was able to overlook it, however, because Emma Lord created such cute characters that I wanted to keep reading and rooting for them.

This book just made me so happy and gave me a lot of hope. I thought the romance was so cute and I also loved a lot of the side characters, because they seemed as messy, complicated, and real as the main characters. Overall, if you are looking for a fun, light read that will make you happy, I would definitely recommend this book.

What do you think? Have you read this book? Do you want to read it? Let me know in the comments below!

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Tweet Cute

Leave a comment