My Most Anticipated Releases of 2023

Hello everyone! I hope you are all doing well! Even though it’s a bit late, I thought I would share my most anticipated releases of 2023, from January to June!

I’ve attempted to put these 20 books in order of release date, although I may have mixed them up in a few places. Each book title also has a link to the books’ Goodreads page, if you want to learn more! I also know that some of the January releases may already be out, but I’m including them here because they released this year and I haven’t read them yet.

Also, there should not be any HarperCollins books on this list. While there are quite a few HarperCollins books that are coming out that I’m interested in, I will not be posting about them until their union gets a fair contract! Learn more on their Instagram (linked here). If you see a HarperCollins title on this list that I may have missed, just let me know!

  • This Time It’s Real by Ann Liang – This looks like such a cute book! It has both fake dating and a protagonist who is a writer!
  • Always the Almost by Edward Underhill – This looks like such a good book about identity and finding people who support you! The main character is also a musician, which I always love to read about!
  • Last Violent Call by Chloe Gong – I just finished Foul Lady Fortune, so I am so excited for this book to come out! I will say – don’t read the synopsis if you haven’t read Foul Lady Fortune yet! I made that mistake and spoiled some of it for myself.
  • Rosewood: A Midsummer Meet Cute by Sayantani DasGupta – I love Sense and Sensibility (it’s the book that first got me interested in Jane Austen), so I’m so excited to read this retelling.
  • Study Break edited by Aashna Avachat – I have noticed that there are many more YA books set in college now. With lots of different authors contributing, I am looking forward to reading this collection!
  • There Goes the Neighborhood by Jade Adia – This book about attempting to stop gentrification looks super interesting! I haven’t heard a lot about it yet, so I’m very excited to check it out!
  • A Whole Song and Dance by Sarvenaz Tash – This looks like such a fun book about pursuing musical theater – and lying about it. I always enjoy books about theater kids and having a book set in NYC is even better!
  • Queen Bee by Amalie Howard – I don’t really read a lot in the “historical YA romance” because there’s not a lot of books that actually fall into this category. Queen Bee does, and I am very interested in reading it!
  • Stars and Smoke by Marie Lu – I always find Marie Lu’s books so enjoyable and intense and this one looks super fun! It’s about spies, which will be interesting to read about!
  • Where You See Yourself by Claire Forrest – I really enjoy books about senior year of high school. There’s something about the bitter sweetness about leaving high school behind that when combined with anticipation about the future makes for a really good story. This definitely looks like this is the case for this book!

What new releases do you want to read this year? Are any of these books on your TBR? Have you gotten the chance to read any of these books early? Let me know in the comments! I would love to hear from you!

Leave a comment